About DeSoto County Government

DeSoto County is committed to enhancing quality of life through exceptional delivery of services and efficient use of public funds.

The Board of Supervisors, Sheriff, Chancery Clerk & Judges, Circuit Court Clerk & Judges, Constables, Coroner, Tax Assessor, and Tax Collector are elected by DeSoto County voters to administer County services.  Each Elected Official is responsible for the operations and actions of her or his office.

Elected Officials: Board of Supervisors

The DeSoto County Board of Supervisors serves as the administrative and policy-making body for the County.  The five supervisors are each elected for four-year terms from districts that vary in geographic size but have approximately the same population.

The Board of Supervisors oversees County Departments that are not presided over by an elected official. Duties include:

  • Approve the County budget for all departments and elected official offices
  • Establish the annual property tax rate
  • Adopt and provide for ordinances, rules, and regulations
  • Hire department directors and employees
  • Oversee 660+ miles of roads and bridges
  • Land-use planning and development in unincorporated DeSoto County

Supervisors appoint a County Administrator to carry out the policies adopted by the Board. They appoint residents to serve the community on advisory committees and boards.  Supervisors also represent DeSoto County on a variety of regional and national authorities, boards and committees.

Elected Official: Sheriff

The DeSoto County Sheriff is elected at-large and serves a four-year term. The Sheriff is the highest ranking law enforcer in the county.  A Sheriff’s duties generally fall into two broad categories: law enforcement and administrative.

  • Law Enforcement Duties:  
    • These duties are specifically "to keep the peace within the county, by causing all offenders in his view to enter into bonds, with sureties, for keeping the peace and for appearing at the next circuit court, and by committing such offenders in case of refusal.  He shall certify and return said bonds to the court."  (MS Code § 19-25-67)
    • The sheriff is also charged with the duty to quell riots, routs, affrays and unlawful assemblages, and to prevent lynching’s and mob violence.
  •  Administrative Duties:
    • Have charge of the courthouse and jail in DeSoto County, of the premises belonging thereto, and of the prisoners in said jail.
    • Keep a Jail docket noting the details of each warrant or mittimus of any person placed in the county jail.
    • Submit a budget to the Board of Supervisors.

Elected Official: Chancery Court Clerk

The Chancery Clerk is elected every four years.  The Position serves as the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors and the Clerk of the Chancery Court, as well as the County Auditor. The duties are set by the Mississippi Code Section 9 Chapter 5.

The DeSoto County Chancery Clerk's office is divided into three departments: 

  • Land Records:
    • The Clerk's office records all documents pertaining to real property
    • The Clerk's office records all general instruments not necessarily related to deeds and mortgages:
  • Court Records:  The Chancery Court office assists attorneys and the public with filing cases related to:
    • Adoption
    • Commitments
    • Department of Human Services support cases
    • Divorce
    • Emancipation (declaring a minor to be 21 for work purposes)
    • Estates
    • Insurance settlements to minors 
    • Name changes
    • Property disputes (over $50,000)
    • Property title confirmation
  • Taxes (Delinquent Tax and Homestead Exemption):  The Chancery Clerk is responsible for collecting delinquent taxes on properties that are sold at the County's annual tax sale. 

Elected Official: Circuit Court Clerk

The Circuit Clerk is elected to a four-year term. The Circuit clerk serves as clerk of the County and Circuit Courts. Duties include:

  • Receives and files all lawsuits, indictments, motions, and other related papers in all civil and criminal cases filed in the circuit or county courts
  • Issues all process including summons and subpoenas
  • Draws jurors
  • Qualifies juries
  • Keeps a record of all judgments and executions
  • Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages
  • Records medical and other professional licenses
  • Registers citizens to vote and has other duties in handling elections

Elected Official: Tax Assessor

The Tax Assessor is elected every four years.  The Assessor maintains property ownership records and is required to list all property in the county with proper legal descriptions.  Duties include:

  • Maintaining the tax maps
  • Preparing the tax roll for the Board of Equalization
  • Maintaining a value on real, commercial, and personal property tax rolls for the county and the cities annually.
  • Assisting homeowners with Homestead Exemption applications from January 1 through April 1 of each year

Elected Official: Tax Collector

The Office of the Tax Collector is established by Article 5, Section 135 of the Mississippi Constitution. This position is elected for a four year term by the county at large. The Tax Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes on:

  • Airplanes
  • Automobiles
  • Mobile Homes
  • Motor Homes
  • Motorcycles
  • Personal Property
  • Real Property
  • Trailers