News Flash


Posted on: January 4, 2021

New DeSoto County Board of Supervisors President

Outgoing Board President Jessie Medlin passes the gavel to incoming President Mark Gardner

The New Year ushered the passing of the Gavel from District 1 Supervisor Jessie Medlin to District 2 Supervisor Mark Gardner.  On January 4, 2021 Mark Gardner was named President of the Desoto County Board of Supervisors for 2021.  District 5 Supervisor Michael Lee was named Board Vice President.

The President of the DeSoto County Board of Supervisors presides at Board Meetings and signs documents in the name of the county. The Vice President will preside at meetings when the president is absent.

After being named President, Supervisor Gardner presented a review of 2020 including the united response to the devastating  January 11 tornadoes.  "EMS, EMA, our Deputies, Fire Departments, Environmental Services, Road Department, and our utility company personnel stepped up as they always do," said Gardner.  " Neighbors helped neighbors and we learned a bit more about what community means here in DeSoto County.  We are  truly blessed to call this home."

"This global pandemic (COVID-19) has changed life for all of us as we know it... We are not sure what lies ahead, but it looks as if masks and hand sanitizer are part of the new norm," continued Gardner.  "We are grateful that a vaccine is now being given to our medical personnel and first responders. We pray the vaccine will be a game changer for all of us." 

"Although it's been a tough year and many have suffered, we are grateful to God for having his hand on DeSoto County in 2020. We pray a hedge of protection around us in 2021 and going forward. We are truly blessed," said Gardner.  "God bless DeSoto County, the State of Mississippi, and the United States of America." 

About The DeSoto County Board of Supervisors:

The DeSoto County Board of Supervisors is the governing body of DeSoto County.  Supervisors provide leadership over critical policy areas, including policies necessary to ensure safe communities, protect public health, promote economic development, and plan and manage land use.

DeSoto County Supervisors have full authority over roads and bridges in unincorporated areas of the county, county law enforcement, collections, fines, and levying taxes. The board is responsible for establishing policy for the complex multi-million dollar budgets of county government. While each supervisor represents his or her district, all of the members are expected to look after the good of DeSoto County as a whole.



District 1:  Jessie Medlin is the longest serving Supervisor.  He was first elected in 1992.

District 2:  Mark Gardner was first elected in 2011.

District 3:  Ray Denison is the newest Board Member. He was elected in 2019.

District 4:  Lee Caldwell is the only woman on the Board.  When elected in 2011, she was the first female elected as a DeSoto County Supervisor.

District 5:  Michael Lee was appointed in 2014 after the passing of his brother, Supervisor Harvey Lee. He was elected to the position in 2015.


Facebook Twitter Email